Posted by: lindsaygoes | September 12, 2010

Local pride in Rochester

Rochester Castle and Cathedral


So I’m back in the UK now. Since getting here I had a week off where I chilled out, and went for walks around Godstone, which was quite nice. I got to see some sheep, ducks, cows and a pony as well as find some corn fields, so almost like being in the country!

Then I headed to my new job, which seems to have had a bit of bad luck with locums, as they had one vet who they weren’t sure was actually a vet, and another vet who showed them inappropriate pictures. So at the moment, I’m looking good! And I’ll have to do something really bad to get into their bad books. But I’ll try not to.

So since I’ve been working I’ve headed into London for the day, where I seemed to catch an extraordinary number of trains, and kept having people trying to sell me more than I wanted to buy (if I wanted a shot glass I would have bought it!), but also had a look around the V & A museum, which had a wonderful fashion exhibit but also decadent items from around the world.

Today was a Heritage Open Day so I decided to go to Rochester, which is fairly close to where I’m living. I managed to see a fair bit while I was there, visiting St Margaret’s Church, where I made a poor man climb up and down the 72 steps of the tower (for the thirty third time that weekend apparently) so I could see the view, and I was also told by a 93 year old woman (looking quite good for her age) that I should go there more often. I also visited the Rochester Bridge Trust Chapel and council room, which had a fantastic view, and interesting the historical politics around bridges. My final religious stop was the Rochester Cathedral with its mixture of architectural styles, although I might have used it as a little bit of a shortcut to the high street.

I also visited the Poor Travellers House and Eastgate House, both of which featured in stories by Charles Dickens, and saw a few other Dickins sites over the day, including his chalet, and went to the Guildhall museum where I got to see some meeting rooms normally closed to the public, an art exhibit with all these amazing tools created from wire and a three storied ship exhibit, which I swear had some audio narrated by David Walliams from Little Britain. I kept expecting a joke!

Then I saw Rochester Castle from the outside and then went on a walking tour around the town where I learned some more English history (don’t test me on it though) and saw some more Dickensian sites as well as lots of fire engines which I couldn’t work out what they were doing. All in all though, it was great to see all these people so enthusiastic and proud of their towns sites and history.

Leave a Reply

Categories

